Elections of four new members of the UEC

July 18, 2010 on 5:49 pm | In User Executive Committee, User Group | Comments Off on Elections of four new members of the UEC

The elections for replacing four members of the UEC have taken place in the period 21-28 May 2010. Candidates were the current members of the UEC plus

Adam Maj (PL)
Andrei Andreyev (GB)
Christian Forssen (S)
Daniel Napoli (I)
Dave Jenkins (GB)
Feisal Azaies (F)
Giacomo Cuttone (I)
Gilles de France (F)
Hans Fynbo (DK)
Lidia Ferreira (P)
Luis Mario Fraile (E)
Marc Labiche (GB)
Marco Cinausero (I)
Marek Ploszajczak (F)
Maria Colonna (I)
Michael Block (D)
Paddy Regan (GB)
Sara Pirrone (I)
Valentina Ricciardi (D)

The results were checked by the “electoral commission” composed by Yorick Blumenfeld and Alberto Facco for the Eurisol Office, Juha Äystö for the former Eurisol DS steering committee and Angela Bonaccorso for the Eurisol UG.

There were 187 voters and the new UEC is composed by

Dieter Ackermann (D)
Bertram Blank (F)
Angela Bonaccorso (I)
Lidia Ferreira (P)
Hans Fynbo (DK)
Ari Jokinen (FIN)
Marek Lewitowicz (F)
Adam Maj (PL)
Paddy Regan (GB)

Special thanks go to Giacomo De Angelis, Rober Page, Berta Rubio and Michael Thoennessen for their enthusiasm and work done in the past two years within the UEC. We are sure they will continue to support the Eurisol project, I particular Berta and Giacomo are already involved in the organization of the next topical meeting on “Neutron deficient exotic nuclei and the Physics of the “proton rich side” of the nuclear chart” which will be held next spring in Valencia (date tba). The present organizing committee is composed by B. Rubio, rubio@ific.uv.es (Chair), D. Ackermann, B. Blank, A. Bonaccorso, G. de Angelis, A. Jokinen.

The next UEC meeting is fixed at CERN during the Isolde workshop (8-10Dec) and in that occasion the new Chair and Vice-Chair of the UG will be elected.

Minutes of the UEC Meeting, Madrid, June 1st 2010.

July 18, 2010 on 5:26 pm | In User Executive Committee, User Group | Comments Off on Minutes of the UEC Meeting, Madrid, June 1st 2010.

Present: Dieter Ackermann, Bertram Blank, Yorick Blumenfeldt (invited), Angela Bonaccorso, Giacomo de Angelis, Ari Jokinen, Marek Lewitowicz, Berta Rubio, Michael Thoennesen

Apologies: Robert Page

1. The first topical meeting in Catania
A. Bonaccorso announced that the report of the first topical meeting is almost finished. In a following discussion, some guidelines, based on an experience from Catania workshop, were collected to help the next organizer of the topical workshop. It was concluded that some kind of template or common instructions should be given for contributors. In addition, a strict deadline should be given and followed to avoid any delay. It was also reminded that the physics report is one of the deliverables of the EURISOL network in ENSAR (EU-FP7), see later in these minutes. Thus, a collection of the reports from topical workshops would also serve EURISOL network. It was agreed that Catania report won’t be printed, but it will become available electronically. Slides of the workshop are already available. The content of the report was also discussed. A general opinion was that the report should not contain political statements, but concentrate on physics update. Future requirements won’t be collected but they are included in individual contributions.

2. Next topical meeting.
First it was noted that ARIS will be organized in Leuven on 30.5.-3.6.2011 and the next PROCON is planned in Bordeaux on 6.-10.6.2011. Thus May-June 2011 is not a favored period. It was proposed and agreed that Valencia on February-March 2011 would be an ideal time and place. Berta Rubio will chair the workshop with help from Angela, Ari, Bertram, Dieter and Giacomo. An actual date will be communicated by Doodle. The workshop could be organized in the middle of the city. To minimize extra costs, it was agreed that no lunches or invited lecturers will be supported. It was also noted that EURISOL network may provide a small (~3000 €) support for the organizers.

3. Results of UEC voting
Results were published and discussed. Despite of the reasonably good number of votes, it was thought that an additional reminder of voting should have been sent. It was also discussed long and detail, if all results, including votes, should be published. Finally, numbers were decided to be sent out only to candidates. The present UEC also noted with satisfaction that the new members will bring new countries to EURISOL community.

4. Next UEC meeting
Angela will stay as a chair until the next meeting, which should take place later this year. Few options to combine major meeting and the next UEC meeting were presented and in the end it was agreed that UEC meets next time in connection to ISOLDE Workshop, 8.-10.12.2010.

5. Reports on various projects linked to EURISOL UEC
5.1. EURISOL network in EU-FP7 I3 ENSAR will be funded by 105 k€. Main participants in the network are CERN, GANIL, IN2P3, INFN and JYFL. The work has been divided to two tasks: The first one, coordinated by Y. Kadi focuses on the current facilities and the second task, coordinated by A. Bonaccorso, concentrates on physics issues. Planned town meetings on 2012 and 2014 could be combined with EURISOL UG topical meetings. The final deliverable, a report on physics is scheduled in the months 44 of ENSAR. It is clear that it is of EURISOL UEC interest to help Angela in this work.
5.2. TIARA- a coordinated action on accelerator physics was presented. This rather wide spread and technically oriented project has two EURISOL related tasks. The progress of TIARA will be followed.
5.3. Eurisol collaboration project office is preparing a draft of MoU, which will be sent to possible candidates to join in Eurisol collaboration. The draft should also be sent to EURISOL UEC members.

Thanks to Ari Jokinen for writing these minutes.